Your skis are packed, your lift pass bought. Now the only thing left to do is get a COVID-19 test.
Aspen now requires all overnight visitors to produce negative results of a COVID-19 test before they can hit the slopes.
Visitors aged 10 and older who are from outside Colorado’s Pitkin County are now required to complete an online travel affidavit before their arrival. In the affidavit, they must report negative results of a COVID-19 test taken within 72 hours of their arrival along with confirming they have been symptom-free for 10 days before travel.
Travelers who arrive without their results will be required to quarantine until they receive a negative result. If travelers do not take a test, they will have to quarantine for 10 days upon arrival. Those who refuse to comply may be fined up to $5,000.
The requirements are the same to those put in place to visit both Maine and Massachusetts.
“What we really heard from our partners in this operation, they wanted it to be recognized as a tool that whenever you come to Pitkin County, you can be assured that we’re doing everything we can to make your stay as safe as possible,” Tracy Truelove, a county spokesperson, told Coloradoan. “It wasn’t designed to be punitive, but simply a statement of what we’re doing in our community not only to keep our community safe, but also keep the people visiting us safe.”
The changes affect travelers to all four of Aspen’s slopes. Aspen Mountain and Snowmass are both open and Aspen Highlands and Buttermilk will open on Friday.
Cailey Rizzo is a contributing writer for Travel + Leisure, currently based in Brooklyn. You can find her on Twitter, Instagram, or at caileyrizzo.com.
Source: Read Full Article