Australian border restrictions: SA will reopen for WA, NT, Tasmania

Following the announcement South Australia would open to the rest of the country on July 20, state Premier Steven Marshall has steamed ahead with the lifting of border restrictions – but only for half the country.

The South Australian Government will reopen the state’s borders to incoming visitors from Western Australia, Tasmania and the Northern Territory from midnight tonight – with other states and territories looking to be allowed in from July 20.

The lifting of the borders means visitors from Western Australia, Tasmania and the Northern Territory will no longer need to isolate themselves for 14 days when they arrive. It is understood the ending of quarantine restrictions will apply only to direct travel from those coming from Tasmania, Western Australia and the Northern Territory, not people who are currently in a state such as Tasmania and seek to come via Melbourne. It is understood a similar agreement may be in place with Queensland.

RELATED: Northern Territory look to re-open borders by July 20

If you’re from Western Australia, Tasmania or the Northern Territory you’ll be able to visit South Australia from midnight tonight.Source:Supplied

RELATED: Australian border restrictions to remain closed until state borders open

Mr Marshall said that the flattening of the curve in his state means South Australia can really start to pave the way back to normality.

“What we’ve seen in recent weeks is a massive improvement in every jurisdiction around the country,” he said, as reported by the Adelaide Advertiser.“We look forward to a time when the entire country can be open to all interstate travel.”

The announcement comes less than 24 hours after Northern Territory Chief Minister Michael Gunner indicated he would re-open the Territory’s borders in mid-July. The suggestion of a mid-July date for the Top End would be in line with South Australia opening to the entire country.

The Queensland government has indicated its borders will be opened at a similar time – around July 10 – Tasmania in late July and Western Australia is yet to give a date.

Travel to and around NSW, Victoria and the ACT is currently allowed.

trending in travel

Source: Read Full Article