Green list update: Which holiday destinations are on the reduced green list?

GMB: Richard Madeley questions UK travel restrictions

When you subscribe we will use the information you provide to send you these newsletters. Sometimes they’ll include recommendations for other related newsletters or services we offer. Our Privacy Notice explains more about how we use your data, and your rights. You can unsubscribe at any time.

Those hoping to jet away this summer will be sorely disappointed as the government announced a reduction to its free to fly to green list on Thursday. This year’s top holiday destination Portugal will be put on the amber list from Tuesday, June 8, causing havoc for those who had planned trips.

The Government has said Portugal move to the amber list comes after an “almost doubling” in the country’s Covid-19 test positivity rate.

Portugal has also seen 68 cases of the Delta variant including some with a mutation previously seen in Nepal.

Brits are told they should not travel to amber list countries, with essential travel only permitted.

Holidays do not count as essential, and so anyone with trips planned to Portugal is facing cancellation and rescheduling.

Read More: Hopes for summer holidays grounded after new green list announcement

Those already in the country face a mad dash back to England to avoid a 10 day quarantine and paying for two Covid tests per person.

Travel restrictions are reviewed every three weeks, so the next update is due on June 24.

For those wanting to travel abroad, there is a scant choice of where to fly to.

Gibraltar and Iceland are viable destinations, however, Iceland requires all travellers to be vaccinated.

Green list countries

  • Australia
  • Brunei
  • Falkland Islands
  • Faroe Islands
  • Gibraltar
  • Iceland
  • Israel
  • New Zealand
  • Portugal – On Amber list from June 8
  • Singapore
  • South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
  • St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha

Despite 11 destinations remaining once Portugal joins the amber list next week, several areas have strict entry requirements.

For example, entry to Australia and New Zealand is currently closed to most arrivals, with exemptions for certain travellers.

So for anyone wanting to head abroad, it is worth checking the entry requirements before booking anything.

You can read more on entry requirements on the Government’s website here.

Which countries have moved to the red list?

As well as Portugal moving to the amber list, several countries have been upgraded to red list status.

The following countries will be on the red list from Tuesday, June 8

  • Afghanistan
  • Bahrain
  • Costa Rica
  • Egypt
  • Sri Lanka
  • Sudan
  • Trinidad and Tobago

Both amber and red list countries are classed as ‘do not travel’ however for people returning to England from red list countries hotel quarantine is required.

Anyone flying back to England from a red-listed area must quarantine for 10 days in a managed hotel.

Red list entry requirements state

Before you travel to England you must:

  • take a COVID-19 test
  • book a quarantine hotel package, including 2 COVID-19 tests
  • complete a passenger locator form

On arrival in England you must:

  • quarantine in a managed hotel, including 2 COVID-19 tests

For more information on the traffic light system, visit the Government’s website here.

Source: Read Full Article